The Onondaga County Traffic Safety Advisory Board (OCTSAB) hosted their 31st Annual Recognition Ceremony, Thursday, April 11, 2019, at Pascale’s Catering at Drumlins, Syracuse, N.Y. Farah Jadran, NewsChannel 9, served as the Mistress of Ceremonies. The guest speaker was County Executive J. Ryan McMahon II.

For the last 31 years, the Traffic Safety Advisory Board has honored community leaders in traffic safety with the Norma H. Coburn Traffic Safety Community Service Award. The Coburn Award recognizes an organization or individual for their outstanding achievement in traffic safety. This year’s Coburn Award recipient was Police Officer Michael Goudy, Syracuse Police Department, for his Child Passenger Restraint efforts. Since 1996, the Gerald E. Deitz Individual Safety Service Award has recognized professional individuals in the community who have made a difference in the traffic safety field. This year’s Deitz Award was presented to Police Officer David Demand, Syracuse Police Department, for his commercial vehicle traffic safety efforts. Given since 2000, the John H. Mulroy Traffic Safety Government Service Award is bestowed on a governmental agency or individual that has dedicated themselves to making roads safer in Onondaga County. This year’s Mulroy Award was presented to Tim Baker, New York State Department of Transportation’s Regional Emergency Manager, for coordination with multiple agencies on incidents that impact the highway system.

In addition to these awards, the top performers from small and large police departments were honored for their efforts in the areas of Impaired Driving Enforcement, Speed Enforcement, and Occupant Restraint during the period of October 1, 2017 through September 30, 2018. In the small police agency category, Officer Stephen Muller, formerly of the Town of Manlius Police Department, was recognized for arresting 31 people for driving while impaired. In the Speed Enforcement category, Officer Brianna Sparks, Town of Manlius Police Department, issued 213 speeding citations. Officer Ross Carnie, Town of Manlius Police Department, was recognized for the third year in a row for issuing 84 occupant restraint tickets in the reporting period. For the large police agency category, Trooper David Delgado, New York State Police, made 87 DWI/DWAI/DWAI Drug arrests during the reporting period. Trooper Richard Sadowski, New York State Police, was recognized for issuing 498 speeding citations. Trooper Andrew Skerpon, New York State Police, was honored this year for his 214 occupant restraint citations during the reporting period.

The top overall performer from a village police department was Village of Liverpool Police Officer Kevin Greenwood. Greenwood issued a total of 1,653 Vehicle and Traffic citations during the grant year. Deputy Todd Shields, Onondaga County Sheriff’s Office, was recognized as the top performer from a large police agency. Shields issued 1,641 total traffic tickets in the reporting period.

Trooper John Beattie, New York State Police, received the OCTSAB’s Move Over Enforcement Award. Beattie issued 35 move over citations during the reporting period.

The OCTSAB presented Aggressive Criminal Enforcement awards to officers for their efforts that went above and beyond normal vehicle and traffic stops. Town of DeWitt Officer James Dean. Dean initiated over 500 traffic stops and issued 450 traffic citations. Dean made 15 arrests – three felony and 12 misdemeanor – resulting in the seizure of 2.14 ounces of PCP, 5.2 grams of Heroin, 2.5 grams of Cocaine, 10 packets of Suboxone and 3.7 ounces of marijuana for combined street value of over $2,300. The stops also resulted in the seizure of $1,300 in cash in suspected drug proceeds. Sgt. Andrew DeGirolamo, North Syracuse Police Department was recognized for an arrest made during an impaired driver checkpoint. Sgt. DeGirolamo’s traffic stop lead to the seizure of 3,800 packets of Hash Oil totaling 4.5 pounds with with a street value of $170,000. Trooper Andrew Halsey, New York State Police, was recognized for a traffic stop that resulted in the driver of the vehicle being arrested for Criminal Possession of a Controlled Substance in the 7th (concentrated Cannabis in the vehicle) Endangering the Welfare of Child and Criminal Sex Act 3rd.

The Nicholas J. Pirro Chairperson Awards were presented to Sgt. Jeffrey Tripp, North Syracuse Police Department, for his consistent traffic safety efforts, and Deputy Daniel Walker, Onondaga County Sheriff’s Office, for his overall traffic safety performance during the program year.

The Onondaga County District Attorney William Fitzpatrick STOP DWI Award was presented to the Investigator Joseph Weidner and Investigator Brett Yorgey, from the New York State Police, for their efforts in the Anthony Saccone case.

This year’s event was sponsored by AAA of Western and Central New York and the Onondaga County District Attorney’s Office STOP DWI Program.